The historic victory for Mohun Bagan in ISL ultimate final

ATK Mohun Bagan
ATK Mohun Bagan

ATK Mohun Bagan won their maiden ISL trophy by defeating Bengaluru FC in the Final on penalties at Fatorda Stadium in Goa, India.

This is the historic victory for club Mohun Bagan and an unforgettable moment for all ATK fans around the world. Now, they are honored with the 2022-2023 season ISL champion.

Key Highlights

  • ATK Mohun Bagan won their maiden ISL trophy in 2023
  • ATKMB Chairmain Sanjiv Goenka announced the club will be renamed as Mohun Bahan Super Giant from next season
  • Dimitri Petratos created the most chances (6) and scored 3 penalties in the Final match
  • ATKMB won a prize money of INR 6 crore where the Bengaluru FC awarded INR 2.5 crore

The final match between Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC played at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on 18 March 2023 at 14:00 UTC. ATK Mohun Bagan started with 4-2-3-1 lineup against Bengaluru FC 3-5-2.

The ATK striker Dimitri Petratos lead the team by 1 – 0 through a penalty at 14th minutes of the game. However, this was not enough for ATK by the end of half time as substitute magical Sunil Chetri converted a penalty into a goal at 45th minute to equalize the score with 1-1 for Bengaluru FC.

In the second half, the Bengaluru FC striker R. Krishna lead the team with 2-1 at 78th minutes of the game. Again, the ATK striker Dimitri Petratos scores through a fantastic penalty at 85th minutes to equalize the score 2-2 at the end of second half.

The match went for extra times but non of the team were able to score before the refree went for the final whistle. In the huge atmosphere, the match went for penalty shootout and finally, ATK Mohun Bagan held their nerves and lifted their first ISL title in a thriller penalties drama where they defeated Bengaluru FC by 2(4)-2(3).

With this victory, ATK Mohun Bagan took home a prize money of INR 6 Crores whereas the Runners-up Bengaluru FC received INR 2 5 crore.

The all ATKMB fans waited so long to celebrate this huge victory and even the CM of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee came on twitter to congratulate the team

[Credit Twitter Official]

Also have a look at FIFA Best Men’s player award 2023 highlights

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: